Empowering Women To Jump Start Their Lives

International Women’s Day… Who cares? I overheard a young woman say this a couple of days ago. So I thought I would pose the question here on my blog.

On hearing what was said by this 20 something young woman. I stopped in my path I thought to myself that is a real shame.

It’s a real shame that as a woman she does not acknowledge the fact that the freedom she currently enjoys here in the west is a direct result of the many women who just over 100 years ago decided to take a stand against the inequality and oppression of women across the globe. 

I thought about the impact the women’s movement has had on my own life.  Such as the right to vote, equal pay, decent maternity schemes etc.

So before we say ‘International Women’s Day,who cares?’ We should acknowledge that there were many women who in recent history paved the way for me to go about my daily life the way I do. And not forgetting that there are still many places in the world where women live in oppressive societies and circumstances. Even here in the west there are many examples where women are at a disadvantage to their male counterparts. So by no means have the issues gone away.

I am not saying this to put anybody down. In fact I want to encourage all women, young and old to take a moment to think of women that are less fortunate than themselves and  to do something to make a change. This change can be big or small.  There are many charitable organisations that are championing women’s issues. Have a look around and maybe you could contribute either time and or money to a good cause. Or why not just take the time to speak to another woman or a young girl about the issues surrounding women. Remember there is a saying ‘Each one teach one.’

I have attended a couple of fundraising events this month and  will continue to mark the ocassion the for the rest of the month of March by posting on twitter and facebook issues surrounding women or highlighting an inspirational woman. I hope you join me on my facebook and twitter pages (links are on this page). And don’t forget the to check the website http://www.internationalwomensday.com/ for  events taking place around the world during the month of March where you can show your support and learn more.

In closing.. International Women’s Day.. Who Cares?  We do, because we stand on the shoulders of those women who were brave enough to have made a stand.

Sonia  :-)

Comments on: "International Women’s Day.Who Cares?" (6)

  1. empowement comes from the inside out

    • I have only just seen this.Thank you for your comment. I totally agree that empowerment comes from within. I wish more of us worked on empowering ourselves from the inside out rather than always looking for external factors to feel good about who we are.

      Thanks for sharing :-)

  2. Reblogged this on Sonia's Blog and commented:

    Happy International Women’s Day? I am reposting a blog I wrote 2 years ago.

  3. Totally agree. We stand on the shoulders of so many women and we surely want women in the future to do the same, so that our ceiling becomes their floor.

  4. Hi askpatricia101. Thank you for taking the time to comment on my post. Yes we need to continue and lay the foundations for those who come after us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,689 other followers

